• Leveraging Biology to Power Engineering Impact
    Get the report
  • NOMINATIONS OPEN! Engineering the Future of Distributed Manufacturing
    Learn More
  • Open Call | Submit your visioning theme idea
    Learn More
NSF Engineering Research
Visioning Alliance
Get involved


Harley Johnson

Professor and Associate Dean for Research, Grainger College of Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

"I am so pleased to be involved with ERVA, which will play a critical role in providing direction to the national agenda for engineering research that positively impacts society and the world. The nation’s major engineering research universities must remain agile and engaged with an ever-growing network of partners, even while contributing our own important perspectives to the conversations that ERVA facilitates."

About Harley Johnson

Harley T. Johnson is a Professor of Mechanical Science and Engineering and the Associate Dean for Research in the Grainger College of Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. As Associate Dean, his office oversees and supports the UIUC engineering research enterprise, consisting of approximately $240M in annual research expenditures, carried out by more than 500 faculty members. In this role, he leads research development, corporate relations, faculty development, major external partnerships, and all aspects of research administration across the college.

Dr. Johnson’s research interests are in the mechanics of electronic materials. He studies the effects of strain and deformation on functional properties of microelectronic and optical materials including silicon, carbon, group III-V materials, and 2D materials. He has authored or co-authored approximately 100 archival journal articles with members of his research group, who have gone on to successful careers in academia, industry, and national labs. He currently serves as Director and PI of the “DIGI-MAT" Program in Materials and Data Science at Illinois, an NSF NRT training grant program that supports approximately 30 PhD students across multiple departments.

Prior to his service as Associate Dean for Research in engineering, Dr. Johnson was the inaugural Faculty Fellow in the UIUC Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research. His numerous awards for research, teaching, and leadership include the NSF CAREER award, the ASME Thomas J. R. Hughes Young Investigator Award for Special Achievement in Applied Mechanics, and the Fulbright U.S. Scholar Award. He has received the University of Illinois Outstanding Faculty Leadership Award, the Larine Y. Cowan Award for Leadership in Diversity, and the UI System Presidential Medallion for exemplary service during the Covid pandemic. Johnson earned his undergraduate degree at Georgia Tech, and masters and Ph.D. degrees at Brown University. Prior to joining UIUC, he was an assistant professor at Boston University. He is a Fellow of both ASME and SES.

Meet more of our Standing Council

Associate Professor of CEE, Laboratory for Information & Decision Systems, MIT
Executive External Strategy and Communications Leader
Dow Corning Corporation
Professor and Chair, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
University of New Hampshire
Anne Shirley Carter Olsson Professor of Applied Ethics
Director, Online Ethics Center for Engineering and Science (OEC)
School of Engineering and Applied Sciences
University of Virginia
Dean and Southern Company Chair, College of Engineering
Georgia Institute of Technology
William and Bettye Nowlin Chair in Engineering, McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering
University of Texas at Austin
Professor and Whitacre Department Chair, Chemical Engineering
Texas Tech University
Executive Director
Oklahoma Center for the Advancement of Science and Technology
Division Leader, Materials Science and Technology
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Chief Sustainability Officer and VP of Engineering
Gordon S. Marshall Early Career Chair and Associate Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering
University of Southern California
Assistant Vice President for Research, Innovation, and Sponsored Programs
New Jersey Edge
Head of Process Engineering R&D – BASF North America
Director of the Nuclear Fuel Cycle and Grid Modernization Center
Sandia National Laboratories
Professor and Associate Dean for Research, Grainger College of Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Director and Deputy Chief Research Officer
Sandia National Laboratories
Partner and Chief Partnership and Communications Officer
Deerfield Management
Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Programs and Professor of Biological and Agricultural Engineering
Carl R. Ice College of Engineering
Kansas State University
Professor and Hogg Family Director of Engineering Management and Entrepreneurship Endowed Chair
Duke University
Dow Chemical Endowed Chair and Professor of Mechanical Engineering; Director, Center for Rotating Machinery
Louisiana State University
CTO of Verseon, Jay and Cynthia Ihlenfeld Head and Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering
Purdue University
Family Dean of Penn Engineering with appointments in the Departments of Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mechanics, Computer and Information Science, and Electrical and Systems Engineering
University of Pennsylvania
George Haddad Collegiate Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
University of Michigan
Dean, College of Engineering, Boise State University
Borchardt and Glysson Collegiate Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
University of Michigan
Honda Chair Professor, Spine Research Institute
The Ohio State University
Engineering Director
Associate Dean for Research, Graduate Programs and Faculty Development, College of Sciences and Engineering
Southern University A&M College
Professor and Chair, Department of Food Science
Cornell University
Senior Associate Vice Chancellor for Research and Innovation, Earl J. and Lillian P. Dyess Endowed Chair in Engineering, Professor of Industrial Engineering
University of Arkansas
Director, Science and Technology and Global University Partnerships
IBM Research – Almaden
System Design Methodologies Professor and Associate Vice Provost for Research
University of Washington
Senior Director in Research Outreach
Pegasus Professor, University of Central Florida
Senior Manager, Global Research & Engagement
Lockheed Martin
Distinguished Professor, White House Millennium Researcher and Director NSF-ERC-RMB and CAMSS
North Carolina A&T State University
Dean of the College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences and Professor, University of Vermont
Thomas and Suzanne Werner Professor in Engineering Physics and Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Affairs, College of Engineering
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Principal Researcher, Nike Sport Research Lab
Nike, Inc.
Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering; Director, Applied Fluids and Thermal Engineering Research Laboratory; Principal Investigator, HU ADVANCE-IT: Education, Advocacy, and Empowerment for Women in STEM
Howard University
Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Department of Computational Mathematics, Science and Engineering; Associate Dean for Research, College of Engineering
Michigan State University
Interim Vice President for Economic Development and Innovation, University of Illinois
Director, Corning Technology Center-Silicon Valley
Corning Research and Development Corporation
View All
Stay up to date on ERVA's latest news