Announcing ERVA's first visioning event!
Learn More
ERVA launches April 15 to identify engineering research priorities
Learn More
NSF Engineering Research
Visioning Alliance
Get involved


Roger Bonnecaze

William and Bettye Nowlin Chair in Engineering, McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering
University of Texas at Austin

“ERVA is more important than ever as the nation faces unprecedented challenges in terms of health, energy, climate, and security, and it will help prepare us to meet these challenges.”

About Roger Bonnecaze

Roger T. Bonnecaze is the William and Bettye Nowlin Chair of Engineering in the McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin (UT Austin). He earned his bachelor’s degree from Cornell University and his master’s and doctorate from the California Institute of Technology, all in chemical engineering. Between his master’s and doctorate, Bonnecaze was a project manager for Hydro Research Science, working on environmental fluid mechanics and designing and testing hydraulic structures. After his doctorate, Bonnecaze was a BP Post-Doctoral Fellow in the Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics and the Institute of Theoretical Geophysics at the University of Cambridge. He joined the faculty at UT Austin in 1993, advancing from assistant to chaired full professor.

He was chair of the John J. McKetta Jr. Department of Chemical Engineering UT Austin from 2005-2013. The end of his tenure as chair coincided with his successful bid for the Nanomanufacturing Systems for Mobile Computing and Energy Technologies (NASCENT) National Science Foundation Engineering Research Center, the first-ever NSF ERC led by the Cockrell School of Engineering at UT Austin. As co-director for seven years, he worked on and organized research with colleagues from several disciplines, engaged industrial partners in the center’s research and entrepreneurial activities, and coordinated the center’s educational programs for students at UT Austin and the community. He recently stepped down as NASCENT co-director to help launch SandBox Semiconductor, a start-up company spun out of the center based on research by one of his students, who is now the CEO.

Bonnecaze’s research interests include nanomanufacturing modeling and simulation and the rheology and behavior of complex fluids. He has won numerous awards, including the NSF Young Investigator Award, David and Lucile Packard Foundation Fellowship, the AIChE Thomas Baron Award, two Journal of Rheology Publication Awards, a Rheologica Acta Publication Award and numerous teaching awards. Bonnecaze is a fellow of the American Physical Society, the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, the Society of Rheology, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Meet more of our Standing Council

Executive External Strategy and Communications Leader
Dow Corning Corporation
Professor and Chair, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
University of New Hampshire
Anne Shirley Carter Olsson Professor of Applied Ethics
Director, Online Ethics Center for Engineering and Science (OEC)
School of Engineering and Applied Sciences
University of Virginia
Dean and Southern Company Chair, College of Engineering
Georgia Institute of Technology
William and Bettye Nowlin Chair in Engineering, McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering
University of Texas at Austin
Professor and Whitacre Department Chair, Chemical Engineering
Texas Tech University
Associate Dean for Research, Innovation and Entrepreneurship, College of Engineering
University of Georgia
Executive Director
Oklahoma Center for the Advancement of Science and Technology
Professor and Head of the Department of Engineering Education
Virginia Tech
Division Leader, Materials Science and Technology
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Gordon S. Marshall Early Career Chair and Associate Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering
University of Southern California
Director and Deputy Chief Research Officer
Sandia National Laboratories
Partner and Chief Partnership and Communications Officer
Deerfield Management
Technical Fellow
Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Programs and Professor of Biological and Agricultural Engineering
Carl R. Ice College of Engineering
Kansas State University
Dow Chemical Endowed Chair and Professor of Mechanical Engineering; Director, Center for Rotating Machinery
Louisiana State University
Jay and Cynthia Ihlenfeld Head and Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering
Purdue University
Family Dean of Penn Engineering with appointments in the Departments of Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mechanics, Computer and Information Science, and Electrical and Systems Engineering
University of Pennsylvania
George Haddad Collegiate Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
University of Michigan
Borchardt and Glysson Collegiate Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
University of Michigan
Honda Chair Professor, Spine Research Institute
The Ohio State University
Engineering Director
Associate Dean for Research, Graduate Programs and Faculty Development, College of Sciences and Engineering
Southern University A&M College
Professor and Chair, Department of Food Science
Cornell University
Senior Associate Vice Chancellor for Research and Innovation, Earl J. and Lillian P. Dyess Endowed Chair in Engineering, Professor of Industrial Engineering
University of Arkansas
Director, Science and Technology and Global University Partnerships
IBM Research – Almaden
System Design Methodologies Professor and Associate Vice Provost for Research
University of Washington
Senior Director in Research Outreach
Pegasus Professor and Chair of ECE
University of Central Florida
Distinguished Professor, White House Millennium Researcher and Director NSF-ERC-RMB and CAMSS
North Carolina State University
Thomas and Suzanne Werner Professor in Engineering Physics and Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Affairs, College of Engineering
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Principal Researcher, Nike Sport Research Lab
Nike, Inc.
Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering; Director, Applied Fluids and Thermal Engineering Research Laboratory; Principal Investigator, HU ADVANCE-IT: Education, Advocacy, and Empowerment for Women in STEM
Howard University
Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Department of Computational Mathematics, Science and Engineering; Associate Dean for Research, College of Engineering
Michigan State University
Interim Vice President for Economic Development and Innovation, University of Illinois
Director, Corning Technology Center-Silicon Valley
Corning Research and Development Corporation
View All
Stay up to date on ERVA's latest news