Take the ERVA Community Survey!
Learn More
ERVA launches April 15 to identify engineering research priorities
Learn More
NSF Engineering Research
Visioning Alliance
Get involved


Sangtae Kim

Jay and Cynthia Ihlenfeld Head and Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering
Purdue University

“ERVA is poised to play an important advisory role in the optimal allocation of R&D resources to address society’s greatest challenges. I am honored to be serving on the inaugural Standing Council and will draw upon my past leadership experiences in industry (bio-pharmaceutical) and government (NSF) to help us deliver on the vision for society.”

About Sangtae Kim

Sangtae Kim is the Jay and Cynthia Ihlenfeld Head and Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering at Purdue University, where he is engaged in rational computer-aided drug discovery research. A native of Seoul who was raised in Montreal, Kim earned simultaneous bachelor’s and master’s degrees in chemical engineering from the California Institute of Technology and a doctorate from Princeton. He started his career at the department of chemical engineering at the University of Wisconsin-Madison in computational micro hydrodynamics, rising to the rank of Wisconsin distinguished professor in eight years.

In 1997, Kim left Madison to work in the pharmaceutical industry as vice president of research and development information technology, first with Warner Lambert’s Parke-Davis Division and then later with the Lilly Research Laboratories of Eli Lilly. He returned to academia in 2003 to become a distinguished professor at Purdue University and to serve at the U.S. National Science Foundation as the inaugural division director for the national cyberinfrastructure programs. Among many honors, Kim has received the 1993 Allan P. Colburn Award of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, was inducted in 2001 as a member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering and received the 2013 Ho Am Prize in Engineering from the Samsung/Ho Am Foundation.

Meet more of our Standing Council

Executive External Strategy and Communications Leader
Dow Corning Corporation
Professor and Chair, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
University of New Hampshire
Anne Shirley Carter Olsson Professor of Applied Ethics
Director, Online Ethics Center for Engineering and Science (OEC)
School of Engineering and Applied Sciences
University of Virginia
Dean and Southern Company Chair, College of Engineering
Georgia Institute of Technology
William and Bettye Nowlin Chair in Engineering, McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering
University of Texas at Austin
Professor and Whitacre Department Chair, Chemical Engineering
Texas Tech University
Associate Dean for Research, Innovation and Entrepreneurship, College of Engineering
University of Georgia
Executive Director
Oklahoma Center for the Advancement of Science and Technology
Professor and Head of the Department of Engineering Education
Virginia Tech
Division Leader, Materials Science and Technology
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Gordon S. Marshall Early Career Chair and Associate Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering
University of Southern California
Director and Deputy Chief Research Officer
Sandia National Laboratories
Partner and Chief Partnership and Communications Officer
Deerfield Management
Technical Fellow
Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Programs and Professor of Biological and Agricultural Engineering
Carl R. Ice College of Engineering
Kansas State University
Dow Chemical Endowed Chair and Professor of Mechanical Engineering; Director, Center for Rotating Machinery
Louisiana State University
Jay and Cynthia Ihlenfeld Head and Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering
Purdue University
Family Dean of Penn Engineering with appointments in the Departments of Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mechanics, Computer and Information Science, and Electrical and Systems Engineering
University of Pennsylvania
George Haddad Collegiate Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
University of Michigan
Borchardt and Glysson Collegiate Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
University of Michigan
Honda Chair Professor, Spine Research Institute
The Ohio State University
Engineering Director
Associate Dean for Research, Graduate Programs and Faculty Development, College of Sciences and Engineering
Southern University A&M College
Professor and Chair, Department of Food Science
Cornell University
Senior Associate Vice Chancellor for Research and Innovation, Earl J. and Lillian P. Dyess Endowed Chair in Engineering, Professor of Industrial Engineering
University of Arkansas
Director, Science and Technology and Global University Partnerships
IBM Research – Almaden
System Design Methodologies Professor and Associate Vice Provost for Research
University of Washington
Senior Director in Research Outreach
Pegasus Professor and Chair of ECE
University of Central Florida
Distinguished Professor, White House Millennium Researcher and Director NSF-ERC-RMB and CAMSS
North Carolina State University
Thomas and Suzanne Werner Professor in Engineering Physics and Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Affairs, College of Engineering
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Principal Researcher, Nike Sport Research Lab
Nike, Inc.
Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering; Director, Applied Fluids and Thermal Engineering Research Laboratory; Principal Investigator, HU ADVANCE-IT: Education, Advocacy, and Empowerment for Women in STEM
Howard University
Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Department of Computational Mathematics, Science and Engineering; Associate Dean for Research, College of Engineering
Michigan State University
Director, Corning Technology Center-Silicon Valley
Corning Research and Development Corporation
View All
Stay up to date on ERVA's latest news